broken throttle cable - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old November 24th, 2008, 09:23 AM
TravelerBT's Avatar
TravelerBT
Status: Offline
Philip Marshall
none - :*(
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Erie, colorado
Posts: 587
Registry
broken throttle cable

what should I pay to have this repaired?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old November 24th, 2008, 10:35 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
not much. its easier than installing an air filter.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 24th, 2008, 01:07 PM
TravelerBT's Avatar
TravelerBT
Status: Offline
Philip Marshall
none - :*(
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Erie, colorado
Posts: 587
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC
not much. its easier than installing an air filter.
Is 100 bucks too much?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old November 24th, 2008, 01:11 PM
mattdh's Avatar
mattdh
Status: Offline
Matt Hurst
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 627
jims right. its super easy. i think its just two pins (one on each end)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 24th, 2008, 01:46 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
If someone else does it, you're probably going to be billed for at least an hour of labor, and of course the part. If you get out for under a hundred, that would be good.

You can of course do it yourself for the cost of the part.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 24th, 2008, 01:55 PM
TravelerBT's Avatar
TravelerBT
Status: Offline
Philip Marshall
none - :*(
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Erie, colorado
Posts: 587
Registry
Ok... anyone in colorado have a throttle cable I can buy from them? Flatirons is the closest one to me and they have to get it in and it won't be until tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 25th, 2008, 01:50 AM
bstraw's Avatar
bstraw
Status: Offline
Byron Straw
1994 POE/ST
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 301
Philip, If you get the part I would be happy to help you put it on, but you may need to drive to fort collins with a stick shoved into the butterfly, wait is that not rover cruse control.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 25th, 2008, 10:47 AM
TravelerBT's Avatar
TravelerBT
Status: Offline
Philip Marshall
none - :*(
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Erie, colorado
Posts: 587
Registry
ha! Thank you so much for the offer, I am going to try to do it myself, and if that fails, I might certainly take you up on your offer!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 25th, 2008, 08:54 PM
TravelerBT's Avatar
TravelerBT
Status: Offline
Philip Marshall
none - :*(
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Erie, colorado
Posts: 587
Registry
WOW that was really easy. Couldn't get the rubber gasket all the way into the hole in the cab. Any tricks to getting that all the way in? I don't want to use WD40 as I think it is corrosive to rubber.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 25th, 2008, 09:18 PM
bstraw's Avatar
bstraw
Status: Offline
Byron Straw
1994 POE/ST
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 301
I sometimes use a hair dryer to do things like that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 25th, 2008, 10:30 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Dish washing soap. I dont think you have much to fear from the WD40 on the rubber.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Defrost Diverter Cable? Wolf Fabrication Defender Technical Discussions 4 June 26th, 2008 04:15 PM
Help installing choke/hand throttle cable KevinNY Defender Technical Discussions 12 February 12th, 2007 10:45 AM
Pinging under full throttle... Doug Defender Technical Discussions 10 November 29th, 2005 11:02 AM
speedo cable scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 3rd, 2005 07:54 AM
Hand Throttle sherpamike Defender Technical Discussions 19 April 3rd, 2004 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Copyright