Any idea where this is supposed to connect? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:26 PM
cellulararrest's Avatar
cellulararrest
Status: Offline
Chris Snyder
1994 D90 #614 | '07 L322 SC
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 1,544
Any idea where this is supposed to connect?

I just noticed I have a wire hanging coming from a sensor on the driver's side of the engine block. I don't have another truck to compare to at the moment, so hoping someone can tip me off as to where this is supposed to connect?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:31 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
oil pressure switch by the oil filter?
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:34 PM
cellulararrest's Avatar
cellulararrest
Status: Offline
Chris Snyder
1994 D90 #614 | '07 L322 SC
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by leastonce View Post
oil pressure switch by the oil filter?
Is there another male spade connector I'm missing? I have the main oil pressure switch on the filter housing, which is plugged in, but this one appears as if it should go somewhere else but I can't for the life of me see where
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:40 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Offline
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,680
Registry
You don't have 2 spades on your oil housing adapter? I haven't looked at a 3.9 in a while, but there were 2 on mine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:43 PM
sonoronos's Avatar
sonoronos
Status: Offline
Ed
None
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 5,537
Registry
never mind.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:44 PM
cellulararrest's Avatar
cellulararrest
Status: Offline
Chris Snyder
1994 D90 #614 | '07 L322 SC
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z.G View Post
You don't have 2 spades on your oil housing adapter? I haven't looked at a 3.9 in a while, but there were 2 on mine.
Just went out checked again and there's only one. Not only that, but that wire won't reach all the way to the other side of the engine to connect to the oil filter adaptor even if there were two spade connectors. There must be another connector somewhere.



------ Follow up post added December 10th, 2015 01:44 PM ------

Sorry for the crappy pics. Can go pull out the real camera
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:50 PM
sonoronos's Avatar
sonoronos
Status: Offline
Ed
None
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 5,537
Registry
Just to be clear: You stated "I have a wire hanging coming from a sensor on the driver's side of the engine block"

Is the wire hanging from a sensor, or is it hanging from a harness?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 10th, 2015, 01:55 PM
cellulararrest's Avatar
cellulararrest
Status: Offline
Chris Snyder
1994 D90 #614 | '07 L322 SC
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoronos View Post
Just to be clear: You stated "I have a wire hanging coming from a sensor on the driver's side of the engine block"

Is the wire hanging from a sensor, or is it hanging from a harness?
Directly from the sensor.

Just so I'm not being a totally vague pain in the ass, here's a good shot of the wire from the back of the engine towards the front.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 10th, 2015, 02:05 PM
sonoronos's Avatar
sonoronos
Status: Offline
Ed
None
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 5,537
Registry
That doesn't look like a sensor, it looks like a ground wire...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 10th, 2015, 02:07 PM
cellulararrest's Avatar
cellulararrest
Status: Offline
Chris Snyder
1994 D90 #614 | '07 L322 SC
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoronos View Post
That doesn't look like a sensor, it looks like a ground wire...
Actually I think you're right. Base of the alternator?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old December 10th, 2015, 02:12 PM
sonoronos's Avatar
sonoronos
Status: Offline
Ed
None
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 5,537
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellulararrest View Post
Actually I think you're right. Base of the alternator?
I don't think alternators use ground wires. They use the alternator case as ground.

Probably something that isn't used anymore. I would just remove the bolt, remove the wire, replace the bolt, and call it a day.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 10th, 2015, 03:21 PM
Roadsiderob's Avatar
Roadsiderob
Status: Offline
Robert Dassler
1994 D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 994
It grounds the distributor.
__________________
Rob Dassler
SWR Automotive
505-872-7818 (shop)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 10th, 2015, 03:41 PM
airbornrover's Avatar
airbornrover
Status: Offline
William Skidmore
SIII 109 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land by parkway and 33
Posts: 1,882
What he said. If its a right angle connector then connects to the distributor housing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadsiderob View Post
It grounds the distributor.
__________________
Quote:
Just to be clear, i was not bragging. i was calling you a pussy. Ren Ching
There is nothing as permanent as a temporary fix. JSBriggs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 10th, 2015, 04:16 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
Do you have a remote Ignition Amplifier?

I will bet that is one of the grounds for the coil set up
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old December 10th, 2015, 04:35 PM
cellulararrest's Avatar
cellulararrest
Status: Offline
Chris Snyder
1994 D90 #614 | '07 L322 SC
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 1,544
That solves the mystery then. I've replaced my entire ignition with an HEI setup and must have missed that connector.

I'm amazed it took so long to fall down!

Thanks everyone
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpine DIN radio, SiriusXM connect tuner, Parrot bluetooth kit hillstrubl The Flea Market 1 December 5th, 2015 12:24 PM
Another "It Wasn't Supposed to be a Restoration" project Axel Truck Build-up's & Restores 18 December 29th, 2012 09:20 PM
Quick connect jumper cable mightymg Wanted 6 March 23rd, 2010 11:50 PM
WARN Booster/Jumper Cable Quick Connect Kit pcscharfe For Sale - Parts 8 June 13th, 2009 01:23 PM
How am I supposed to know if I own a Land Rover?? rgrrvr Misc. Chit-Chat 1 May 29th, 2008 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Copyright