2.5NA vs. 200/300Tdi - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old July 21st, 2017, 04:27 AM
David Coker
1991, Defender 90, 2.5NA LHD

2.5NA vs. 200/300Tdi

I am 100% positive that this is about the deadest horse on this forum, but, my curiosity is piqued...

So as I wind down the mechanical portion of my restoration, and after troubleshooting numerous issues while learning all about defender diesels for the first time in my life, I finally have had some spare time to lurk the forum for entertainment instead of troubleshooting and repairs. I have some background and some questions:

1. My Defender is a 2.5NA...darn near bone stock military.

2. My truck's powerplant gets bashed, in one form or another, in nearly every thread I've ever started on this forum. I mean, I post an inquiry about LT77 transmission rattle troubleshooting and somehow, the thread goes to "pull that lump of sh*t out and drop in a 200/300 Tdi!"

3. So I started lurking threads about 200/300 Tdi performance.

4. I see folks posting, proudly I might add, that their 200 Tdi can "cruise at 70mph no sweat".

5. My 2.5NA cruises on the freeway at a steady 70mph just fine, with occasional downshifts if there is a relatively large uphill portion or similar...then I have to drop to 60-65. That's summer speeds; winter speeds hit 75mph in the cooler air...in winter it pulls like an entirely different engine, but keep in mind that Texas gets HOT...like unbelievably, totally, mothernucking HOT!

6. Then I find posts where folks claim their 2.5NA can't go more than 20mph up a hill...in England...which has weather that is basically the opposite of Texas. I have not had any issues even remotely like that.

7. WTF? If my 2.5NA cruises in weather befitting the inner ring of the 7th circle at darn near what folks are getting from their 200/300Tdi conversions, then why do so many folks trash talk the 2.5NA?