Texas to Alaska - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Trips, Trails and Events

Old January 31st, 2014, 12:04 PM
Bill Larson
Bill Larson
97 D90 SW

Texas to Alaska

So this summer I'm planning to take my 15 yo son on expedition to Alaska. My thought is to drive to Skagway and load up on the ferry and boat over to Bellingham, Wa. and then finish the drive back.

Looking for information/experience on this...seems pretty straight forward but I have no experience with transport of my D90 and expedition trailer on a ferry.

This is the service I'm planning to use. https://www.ferrytravel.com/home.htm.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 31st, 2014, 12:12 PM
Red90
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team

Registry
Nothing much to know. Just drive on and park.

It is a great area to go in the summer. Plan for a lot of time. There is never enough. Make sure you understand how long it will take to get there. It is a LONG way.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Old January 31st, 2014, 12:18 PM
ruggedalaskaman
Frank
1995 NAS D-90 #375

Registry
I have made the drive many times without any issues. As stated, just drive on and drive off....there will be many larger vehicles than a D-90 w/trailer on the boat
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 31st, 2014, 12:30 PM
Bill Larson
Bill Larson
97 D90 SW

So far I've planned 16 days there and 16 back. I think the ferry is 4 days on top of that. My total rig is 26' long. I have it all calculated out down to the fuel up's. Hitting Mount Rushmore on the way up and Yellow Stone on the way back. Planned for only 7 hours of drive time a day...I have a buffer week on the back end if I need it.
Old January 31st, 2014, 12:42 PM
Red90
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team

Registry