300tdi wiring loom - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Classifieds > Wanted


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old October 1st, 2014, 07:26 AM
J. Pound's Avatar
J. Pound
Status: Offline
Jeremy Pound
1960 Series 2a
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oakdale, CA USA
Posts: 968
300tdi wiring loom

Although not necessary, I'm looking for the wiring loom for the 300tdi from firewall to engine bay. I know I can make the v8 harness work, but am looking for the path of least resistance on this install! Seems to me it would be a bit easier to splice in the harness rather than make it from the existing v8 one. Let me know whatcha got
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old October 1st, 2014, 08:03 AM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
Don't rule out making it. Tdis don't need much wiring.
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 1st, 2014, 09:07 AM
J. Pound's Avatar
J. Pound
Status: Offline
Jeremy Pound
1960 Series 2a
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oakdale, CA USA
Posts: 968
Well, I know most of the 300's connection are the same as the v8's so it's pretty easy to get it going, but it would save me a bit of time(which I'm pretty much out of) if I had a 300 loom on hand to splice in and keep it tidy. It's not my first rodeo with wiring, so n

------ Follow up post added October 1st, 2014 08:10 AM ------

Not against using the v 8 harness at all. Just thought if someone has one on hand at a reasonable price I'd take it. I'd rather use that time on installing other goodies
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old October 1st, 2014, 10:00 AM
Baldewin's Avatar
Baldewin
Status: Offline
Chris Baldewin
Bastard 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republican Sanctuary of CA
Posts: 878
Check with Keith Gott in the UK, they had some listed a few months ago for a pretty good price. I believe George at RDS carries them as well.

http://www.keithgott.co.uk
__________________
Chris
“Don't judge a man until you have walked a mile in his shoes”
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 1st, 2014, 10:01 AM
Nomar's Avatar
Nomar
Status: Offline
Jeff B
RR HNTR,RR LWB Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central,Virginia
Posts: 4,291
Registry
You do not need it.

What does it really do? Unless it includes the glow pug crap(which I would not even fool with in Cali)...


.
__________________


Real Rovers have round headlights!
Rent my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Just a few miles from 4x4 access!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 1st, 2014, 10:42 AM
J. Pound's Avatar
J. Pound
Status: Offline
Jeremy Pound
1960 Series 2a
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oakdale, CA USA
Posts: 968
Well, I would agree with you about the glow plug set up, but we have a cabin we frequent in winter, so it would be nice to have the glow plugs functional. I wouldn't bother with the harness if I can't find a cheap used one in the states. Really just a convenience thing.
Nomar, noticed your rover line up. Once my tdi is installed, we will have the same rovers! RRC lwb tdi and a hunter edition too bad my hunter is going up for sale soon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 1st, 2014, 11:13 AM
Nomar's Avatar
Nomar
Status: Offline
Jeff B
RR HNTR,RR LWB Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central,Virginia
Posts: 4,291
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Pound View Post
Well, I would agree with you about the glow plug set up, but we have a cabin we frequent in winter, so it would be nice to have the glow plugs functional. I wouldn't bother with the harness if I can't find a cheap used one in the states. Really just a convenience thing.
Nomar, noticed your rover line up. Once my tdi is installed, we will have the same rovers! RRC lwb tdi and a hunter edition too bad my hunter is going up for sale soon
My Tdi used all the existing wiring-I pulled the 14 CUX harness & computer as a complete('93) and used the existing engine harness for the rest-tach, fuel cutoff solenoid, oil pressure. The '93 temp guage wont read but your 95 probably will(like a Disco).

Hmm...tell me about this Hunter for sale??


.
__________________


Real Rovers have round headlights!
Rent my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Just a few miles from 4x4 access!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 1st, 2014, 11:24 AM
J. Pound's Avatar
J. Pound
Status: Offline
Jeremy Pound
1960 Series 2a
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oakdale, CA USA
Posts: 968
Yeah, you're right. Since the tdi won't be delivered for a week or two, I should just gut the ecu and and harness to clear up space on the engine bay and just use the existing.
It's a 91' hunter with rebuilt 4.2,19lb ford injectors,rebuilt r380,lt230, new paint and basically every maintenance part is brand new. In the process of putting all the panels back on after the respray.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 1st, 2014, 12:14 PM
Nomar's Avatar
Nomar
Status: Offline
Jeff B
RR HNTR,RR LWB Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central,Virginia
Posts: 4,291
Registry
Hunter sounds very interesting...what color?

I'm guessing your ECU will pull through the big grommet in the firewall intact like a '93. Not sure if there is a market for '95 but people want the 14CUX for a few hundred bucks.

.
__________________


Real Rovers have round headlights!
Rent my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Just a few miles from 4x4 access!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 1st, 2014, 12:23 PM
J. Pound's Avatar
J. Pound
Status: Offline
Jeremy Pound
1960 Series 2a
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oakdale, CA USA
Posts: 968
Well it's for sale! The 95's 4.2 ecu is the same as other 14cux units. I have a 95' 4.2 ecu in my hunter. $200 shipped
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Classifieds > Wanted

Tags
300tdi, tdi, wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200/300tdi wiring loom rgrrvr For Sale - Parts 0 September 29th, 2014 01:32 AM
Disc Brake Sals, RHD Dash, 300Tdi Wiring Loom, etc. Ash For Sale - Parts 16 March 3rd, 2014 05:45 PM
Td5 wiring loom with 300tdi anfonee1 Defender Technical Discussions 5 September 1st, 2013 12:07 PM
LHD TD5 bulkhead wire loom rayfi For Sale - Parts 2 November 7th, 2009 01:59 PM
ARB M002 Heavy Duty Wiring Loom Troys Defender Technical Discussions 1 December 15th, 2006 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Copyright